Reflection on Topic 5

I felt that I could fully connect with this week’s topic, as open access (OA) is something I feel quite strongly about. I could tell that other bloggers felt similarly, such as Richard who took the opportunity to raise awareness and show support by tweeting OA publishers. 

I was pleasantly surprised by how my blog and my SlideShare were utilised by others who support OA:

This topic has truly improved my personal learning networks and connections!

The Creative Commons license was introduced to me by Ellie. As mentioned in my post, I have some freely accessible resources that I created during my A Levels for revision. Becca mentioned the risk of plagiarism when making content like this freely accessible; as a content producer I became wary of this as a disadvantage – I would like to be credited for my own work! This made me realise the impact OA would have on smaller, individual researchers publishing their work. Becca found a report which explained that a significant majority of students were concerned about plagiarism, although very little occurred. Reflecting on this, this is a significant deterrent to publishing OA, and therefore should be taken into consideration.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Hannah and Rofini wrote about OA in the music industry: releasing free music in the form of mixtapes to gain exposure and build a reputation. This draws parallels with the idea of OA in my field. Publishing significant research data in OA journals will help scientists gain exposure, which is an investment into their futures in academic careers. This supports the idea of building a professional identity online, discussed in Topic 3.

I discussed what could be done next to limit the disadvantages with Anna, who expressed a concern for our university fees once OA becomes established. I think it is contentious to say whether a significant proportion of our university fees are paying for journal subscriptions. I could not find out how many journals the Uni of Southampton subscribe to, but I did find this Springer catalog which runs through the prices of their journals alone, which came to a hefty sum of €23,000. If OA became established in all journals, (considering how many students attend this University) it is unlikely that there would be a reduction in our tuition fees.

Overall, most blogs supported OA. In contrast, Richard’s astute opinion was that although OA is growing, it may be unlikely that it can surpass paywalls, which reflect my own conclusions about OA.

See my comments: – 12

References:

Josh Brown and Kathy Sadler. Plagiarism: E-Theses Best Practice Summaries. University College London. [Accessed 10th May 2016]

Springer. 2016 Journals Price List – EUR. [Accessed 11th May 2016]

Leave a Reply

